Thank you all for your wonderful comments; it’s always nice to know that there are people rooting for you and wishing you the best when you’re feeling down.

My beta was supposed to be either today or tomorrow, but I went for my blood draw on Thursday since I knew I wasn’t pregnant and didn’t want to continue the PIO shots until Monday. My nurse called back in the afternoon and I was going to just let it ring through to voicemail, but Mark said I should pick it up, so I did. As it turns out, I was glad that I did. She was really sweet and said that my beta was negative and I told her that I knew it would be. She said she always holds out hope even if the patient is testing negative. She was very reassuring and told me not to lose hope. She said my doctor has lots of “tricks up his sleeves” and has already been thinking about me and what we will do next. That was a small pick-me-up and definitely helped me to close the book on this cycle and move on emotionally.

So as seems to be our pattern after a failed cycle, we ran away. We decided to head to Indiana where my sister lives and spend some time with her and my parents who were also visiting. We took advantage of the great state forests and parks near her house to do some geocaching and mountain biking, which was a much needed distraction. Being out in the beautiful spring air and getting some exercise was a much needed change of pace.

So where we go from here? It’s a good question. When the nurse called, she told me to schedule our WTF appointment in a couple of weeks to discuss things with the doctor, which I am really looking forward to. I am very interested in what he has to say about this cycle and what his plans are for our next cycle. I am very curious to see what kind of tricks he has in store for us.

