As a relatively new blogger, I have a situation that I’m not quite sure how to handle. So I’m asking all of you blogging experts out there what you would do in my position.

It’s been my experience that most people who decide to leave comments are those who can sympathize with my personal situation, and if they can’t, and still want to comment, they just say something simple and comforting like “thinking of you” or “hugs.”

A week and a half ago I received a comment in response to The Return to Dr. Ass Clown that caught me completely off guard. The commenter basically pointed out how much of what I was complaining about was routine as far as infertility timelines is concerned and how she didn’t think that Dr. Ass Clown was “out to get me,” essentially trying to prove my feelings as unjustified.

I did not approve said comment because it pissed me off. It seems to me that most women who blog about infertility do so as an outlet for the complex and varied range of emotions that they are dealing with. They do so knowing that most of their audience has struggled with the same things as them and that they can relate. They do so knowing that people who comment are their blogs will do so with support and empathy. They do so feeling that it is a safe place where they can say what’s on their minds without feeling attacked.

This commenter (who was a first time commenter to my blog and also appears to not be a blogger herself) just showed up, gave her opinion on how my emotions were invalid, and knocked the corn dog right out of my hand. I guess I felt like those who read and are a part of the infertility blogging community would have more tact than that. My mom was always reminding us as kids “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all” and that was all I could think of as I read this comment.

I’m not quite sure what to do with this particular comment. It has been sitting in my “pending” folder since it was received, and it annoys me every time I log in and see it sitting there. Part of me feels like I should just delete it and be done with it, thus eliminating some daily stress of seeing it there all the time, but on the other hand it seems wrong to delete it just like that. Should I e-mail the commenter and let her know that the tone and content of her comment could have been better and that she should be more sympathetic if she chooses to comment on my blog in the future? Do I just post the comment anyway?

What do you do when you get comments that rub you the wrong way?

