We arrived at the clinic this morning to find out that two of our three embryos were still growing. One blast and one morula and we were thrilled. I was completely nervous about what we may or may not have since we had not heard anything from the clinic since Friday. I couldn’t sleep at all last night and kept having dreams that once we got to the clinic, they told us we had no living embryos. Anyway, the RE said that they were both a great quality and gave us a 60% success rate. So in they went and then we got to fight yet another snowstorm for four hours back home. I’m now on bedrest for the rest of the day and am debating whether I will go to work tomorrow or not.

The big news to come out of our transfer is that the RE was able to give us some more information regarding why only three of my 19 eggs became embryos. As it turns out, I was completely wrong. He said that most of the eggs were actually mature, but they were of a poor quality. Of course this helps to explain why my FSH is elevated, but yet I’ve always had too ovarian volume and good response to stims. High FSH means either low ovarian reserve or poor quality eggs. I guess now we know which I have.

Clearly we are so hoping that this cycle works for us, but if for some reason it doesn’t, I will definitely be looking into DHEA in hopes that it can improve my egg quality.

Does anyone have any info/resources on DHEA and egg quality?

Lastly, thank you all for your kind thoughts and support lately. I really appreciate it!

